Skip to main content Skip to footer

 Johann Johannsson - Arrival

  • Write a Review

Release Date:12/23/2016;Notes:Double vinyl LP pressing. Original soundtrack to the 2016 motion picture composed and produced by Johann Johannsson. Th...Click To Read More About This Product

Order Now!
This item is backordered but is available to reserve now. You will not be charged until the item ships. call for details: 800.348.5003
Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)
    Warranty Options

  • Shipping (48 Contigous U.S. States)
  • Your Price :
Reserve Now
Add to Wish List

Earn up to 0 reward points.

Release Date:12/23/2016;Notes:Double vinyl LP pressing. Original soundtrack to the 2016 motion picture composed and produced by Johann Johannsson. The Paramount Pictures film Arrival is the composers third cinematic collaboration with French-Canadian director Denis Villeneuve, following on from last year's crime thriller Sicario, which garnered Johannsson an Oscar nomination for best original score. Arrival stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker, Adams playing the lead role of a linguist who attempts to communicate with the alien intelligence controlling a fleet of spacecraft that has suddenly and ominously appeared at sites all around the globe. As mankind teeters on the brink of global war, she and her team embark on a race against time to find out why these craft have come to earth. More than a conventional sci-fi thriller, this is a thoughtful, intellectual drama with a genre twist. Johannsson worked with several singers and vocal ensembles and combined both classical and avant-garde elements in his compositions, augmenting his already unique approach of combining orchestral writing with digital sound processing. Among those appearing are the prestigious Theatre of Voices, conducted by Paul Hillier, and artists such as Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe and Hildur Guonadottir, known for their unique musicianship. Johannsson also integrated some found sounds from the legendary avant-garde vocalist Joan La Barbara into his score. The soundtrack was recorded in Prague, Copenhagen and his native Reykjavik.;Track List:1. Arrival;2. Heptapod B;3. Sapir-Whorf;4. Hydraulic Lift;5. First Encounter;6. Transmutation at a Distance;7. Around the Clock News;8. Xenolinguistics;9. Ultimatum;10. Principle of Least Time;11. Hazmat;12. Hammers and Nails;13. Xenoanthropology;14. Non-Zero-Sum Game;15. Properties of Explosive Material;16. Escalation;17. Decyphering;18. One of Twelve;19. Rise;20. Kangaru;21. On the Nature of Daylight - Louisa Fuller Natalia Bonner John Metcalfe Philip Sheppard Chris Worsey

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Questions & Answers View All
Questions & Answers

© Woodwind & Brasswind. All rights reserved.     Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Statement

You are changing the Ship-To country.

Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.