Skip to main content Skip to footer

PWM Mazurkas for Piano, Series B, Published Posthumously PWM Composed by Frederic Chopin Edited by Jan Ekier

  • Write a Review

Includes the Mazurkas published posthumously: A minor (WN 14), A minor (WN 60), A minor - earlier version (WN 60), A-flat Major (WN 45), B-flat Major...Click To Read More About This Product

In Stock & Ready to Ship
This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

  • Shipping (48 Contigous U.S. States)
  • Your Price :
Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Earn up to 0 reward points.

Includes the Mazurkas published posthumously: A minor (WN 14), A minor (WN 60), A minor - earlier version (WN 60), A-flat Major (WN 45), B-flat Major (WN 41), B-flat Major (WN 7), B-flat Major - earlier version (WN 7), C Major (WN 24), C Major (WN 47), F Major (WN 25), F minor (WN 65), G Major (WN 26), G Major (WN 8), G minor (WN 64). Inspired by Polish folk dance, Chopin's mazurkas gradually became compositions of meditative lyricism, and the most personal statement of expression. See also 00132281 for the 43 Mazurkas published during the composer's lifetime. The National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin Published by PWM Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation Co-Editors Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form, based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology. The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer, mainly autographs, copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections, and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking, the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort. The characteristics of sources, the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume. The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments, comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate, due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos), suggestions as to the harmonic legato (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten). About the National Edition Full Introduction to the National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Questions & Answers View All
Questions & Answers

© Woodwind & Brasswind. All rights reserved.     Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Statement

You are changing the Ship-To country.

Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.